'Vote Here' sign at West St. Paul city hall.

2022 Primary Election Results

Thanks to FoodSmith and Jameson’s Irish Bar for their support.

Primary races for Dakota County positions and DFL state legislative seats have narrowed the field heading into the general election.

Matt Little and incumbent Kathy Keena will face off for the county attorney, the first time the seat has been contested since 1994. Joe Atkins took a commanding lead in the county commissioner race with Jimmy Francis also advancing.

The DFL primary for Senate District 65, representing the northern half of West St. Paul, saw incumbent Sandy Pappas hold off challengers for senate and María Isa easily defeated Anna Botz for an open house seat.

Election Results

Candidate:Vote Totals:Percentage:
Dakota County Attorney: (top 2 advance)
Matt Little16,21233.7%
Kathy Keena (i)14,39929.93%
Elizabeth Lamin9,93620.66%
Jeff Sheridan7,55615.71%
County Commissioner District 2: (top 2 advance)
Joe Atkins5,50270.87%
Jimmy Francis1,57720.31%
John Wheeler6848.81%
Senate District 65:
Sandy Pappas (i)4,84265.56%
Sheigh Freeberg1,67222.64%
Zuki Ellis87211.81%
House District 65B:
María Isa3,61381.71%
Anna Botz80918.29%
(Unofficial results; Results are not final until certified.)

Up next is the general election on November 8. Absentee voting begins September 23.

Thanks to voters, election judges, and candidates. The best way to celebrate our democracy is to participate in it, and we’re grateful to do our part in helping voters stay informed.

This kind of local election coverage only happens thanks to our generous supporters. Consider joining them with monthly or annual support and help keep your community informed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s